Grand Rapids Symphony’s Tchaikovsky Festival

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 02/08/2019
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

DeVos Performance Hall

Categories No Categories



February 8-9

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Andrei Ionita, cello (Gold Medal-winner at the 2015 XV International Tchaikovsky Competition)

Grand Rapids Symphony Chorus

  • TCHAIKOVSKY: At Bedtime
  • TCHAIKOVSKY: Variationson a Rococo Theme for cello and orchestra, Op. 33
  • TCHAIKOVSKY: Nocturne for cello and orchestra
  • TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4


“The most Russian of all Russian composers,” according to Stravinsky, Tchaikovsky was one of the greatest composers of melody who ever lived. In his late 30s, the unabashed romantic truly hit his stride. In just four years from 1875 to 1879, Tchaikovsky premiered his First Piano Concerto, his Violin Concerto in D Major, his ballet Swan Lake, and his opera Eugene Onegin. Nestled among these are his deeply emotional, fateful Symphony No. 4 and his exquisite Variations on a Rococo Theme. Andrei Ionita, winner of the Gold Medal at the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition, is soloist in Tchaikovsky’s only major work for cello and orchestra. 8 pm Friday and Saturday, Feb. 8-9, in DeVos Performance Hall, 303 Monroe Ave. NW. Tickets start at $18 adults, $5 students.