Grand Rapids Symphony’s Great Eras Baroque Concert

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 10/12/2018
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

DeVos Performance Hall

Categories No Categories




October 12

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Ellen Sherman, Oboe

  • MARCELLO: Concerto for Oboe
  • VILLA-LOBOS: Bachianas brasileiras 9
  • BACH: Orchestral Suite No. 3


Johann Sebastian Bach, who flourished in the early 18th century, is revered as the one of the greatest, if not the greatest, composer who ever lived. Nonetheless, Bach was influenced by the music of other composers such as Vivaldi. The German composer was sufficiently impressed by Alessandro Marcello’s Concerto for Oboe that he took it upon himself to arrange it for solo keyboard. For this concert, though, Grand Rapids Symphony’s Ellen Sherman plays the original concerto for oboe, strings and continuo as written by the Venetian composer.

Ellen Sherman - GRS Baroque Concert, Oct. 12, 2018